This I Believe…

Awful, Bad, Not Great, Good, Great, Exceptional, three stars, four stars, five stars…there are so many ways to classify someone’s actions. whether it be professionally, competitively, or in regular everyday life, everyone has a standard of what they think is considered “good”. We all think this way, me included. However, could it be that we’re going about this in the wrong way? I mean let’s think about this for a second:

How many time have you said “I can’t do this or that”? I can’t sing, I can’t paint, I can’t write. Technically you can do those those things, you can move your voice up and down, you can put paint on a piece of canvas, you can put words on paper! You only think you can’t because you are comparing yourself to someone else’s style. I certainly would not like being compared to someone like Micheal Jackson when I dance or sing, because for one: I’m not Micheal Jackson. We’re totally separate people, the way I sing is not the way he sings so there is no sense in comparing the two of us. Unfortunately Micheal Jackson is considered a “good” singer and I’m not. When was that decided? At some point someone decided that the way one person did something was better then they way everyone else did it and it has been that way ever since. But it shouldn’t be that way. The qualities of a person’s actions cannot be measured in a hierarchy based on other’s previous actions.

For example: I have never believed I that I’m a good dancer. I wasn’t born a dancer, I had no natural ability. In class I’m always that girl in the back of the class. I don’t like to do auditions for anything because I believe I won’t make it into anything anyway. See I compare myself to the people around me and how much more talented they are, basing what they do as good and what I do as bad. I want to mimic them. But I don’t dance like those people. I dance like myself, and my actions are 100% my own. No one can mimic me and my style, if they tried it would mean everyone would compare their actions to mine. Technically, I dance perfectly just the way I dance.

So if you take away all the standards of society, all the comparisons, you technically do everything perfectly for the way you do it. There is no definition of a perfect action, people have been trying to find it for forever. No one can find it because they are looking for one singular definition when there is literally billions of definitions. Everyone is perfection their own way. Therefore everything you do is perfect. Everyone can do everything to the best of their ability. I believe that just because society believes you’re untalented in something, doesn’t mean you are. You are perfectly you 100%. I believe everyone defines perfection. I believe everyone is perfect at everything they do

2 thoughts on “This I Believe…

  1. “At some point someone decided that the way one person did something was better then they way everyone else did it and it has been that way ever since. But it shouldn’t be that way. The qualities of a person’s actions cannot be measured in a hierarchy based on other’s previous actions.” Don’t you dare cut this part.

Leave a Reply

